2024 ICFJ/ONE Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling


2024 ICFJ/ONE Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling

Deadline: 31st January, 2024

Details: The International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), the ONE Campaign, and the Elliott family are happy to announce a call for entries for the Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling.


  • The award honors up-and-coming journalists in Africa who strive to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent.
  • The award entries must represent groundbreaking journalistic work published between December 1, 2022, and December 1, 2023.
  • Winners will be selected on the quality of their articles and the impact their work has had on communities.


  • The contest is open to English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast, and online news media. Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Applicants must submit one published piece that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling. We are looking for impactful investigative or explanatory pieces, especially those illuminating transformational change in Africa.
  • A copy of the published story or broadcast clip must be submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations. We welcome submissions from print, broadcast, or digital journalists. Multimedia submissions may include web, audio, video, visual, or mixed media.
  • The submitted story must be published between December 1, 2022, and December 1, 2023.


  • The winners will receive a $5,000 cash prize and a personalized award certificate.
  • The winners will have an extraordinary opportunity to spend two weeks at The Economist headquarters in London.


Visit the website

Latest Opportunities

Follow us on IG
Twitter feed is not available at the moment.